Ifflandstraße 82
22087 Hamburg
  Tel. +49.40.39 50 39
  Mobil +49.179.2085829

Deutsche Version
Music is the only language that everybody understands.

(Nikolaus Harnoncourt)

The Konzertbüro

Founded in January 2000, Konzertbüro Nikolaus Schmidt sees itself as smoothing the way for musicians and individualists wishing to use the services of a small office for securing engagements, negotiating fees, conducting correspondence and handling the logistics involved in their international concert activities. The core activity of Konzertbüro Nikolaus Schmidt consists of promoting outstanding string soloists and chamber music ensembles. The agency also represents several conductors and pianists. Those musicians opting to be represented by the agency receive personal attention and support on questions related to the strategic development of their activities on the concert platform. Prompted by the idea that 'Small is beautiful', an artists' roster of manageable size enables the agency to represent artists individually, just as they desire and require, with concert promoters and the media. The services provided on the traditional basis are those of an agent or somebody who would today be termed a diplomat. The agency sees itself as functioning as the musicians' attorney, while also providing certain services on their behalf.

The agency also offers part-time placements as well as spells of career experience for students of culture management with a good knowledge of the repertoire whose interests lie first and foremost in the field of classical music.

The agent

Nikolaus SchmidtBorn on October 6th 1966 in Wuppertal-Elberfeld, Nikolaus Schmidt witnessed his first performance of opera when he was five, and at six he attended a concert by a full symphony orchestra for the first time. His habit of listening to concerts was soon superseded by his own activities in learning the cello, the piano and the clarinet. Ever since he was 14, he has been attending over 100 concerts of classical music every year, developing a fine, self-taught sense of what constitutes quality.

Schmidt received substantial input on questions of interpretation and performing practice from his friend Rainer Clute, a radio drama producer with RIAS Berlin at the time, and later from Andreas von Arnauld, a friend and a lawyer who is also a composer. Nikolaus Schmidt studied musicology in Hamburg from 1987 onwards, supplementing this for five years from 1991 by working part-time as a consultant and salesman in a Hamburg store specialized in Classical music sound carriers. He used this period primarily to enlarge his knowledge of the repertoire.

A detour involving various placements in opera houses - among others with Harry Kupfer at the Komische Oper Berlin, with Kurt Horres at the Deutsche Oper am Rhein and later with the artistic direction of the Düsseldorf Symphonic Orchestra - led to a period on the staff of Konzertdirektion Dr. Rudolf Goette in Hamburg from 1995 onwards. It was there that Schmidt discovered that he could ideally combine his love of music and musicians with his organizational skills and his talents as a communicator, and opted for the profession of artist's agent. Initially employed for two years on an assistant's duties, in 1998 Nikolaus Schmidt took over management for numerous musicians, among them the Auryn Quartet, the Hagen Quartet, Nelson Freire, Isabelle van Keulen, Boris Pergamenschikov and Marcello Viotti. He subsequently engaged other groups, conductors and soloists for Konzertdirektion Dr. Goette. After four apprentice years as an employee, he founded Konzertbüro Nikolaus Schmidt in Hamburg in 2000.

Among Schmidt's personal household gods are composers Anton Bruckner, Antonin Dvorák, Leos Janácek, Dmitri Schostakovich, Franz Schubert and Jean Sibelius. The experience of concerts by Claudio Arrau, Arturo Benedetti-Michelangeli, Leonard Bernstein, Sergiu Celibidache, Antal Dorati, Carlo Maria Giulini, Ida Haendel, Vladimir Horowitz, Carlos Kleiber, Nathan Milstein, Jevgeni Mravinski, Václav Neumann, Eugene Ormandy, Rudolf Serkin and Günter Wand made an abiding impression on him. Taking pride of place among his favourites in today's concert life are those artists for whom he himself is active.

In the orchestral field, some idea of the range of Schmidt's personal preferences is conveyed by mention of the art and work of conductors such as Claudio Abbado, Valery Gergiev, Nikolaus Harnoncourt, Lorin Maazel, Sir Simon Rattle, Yuri Temirkanov and Michael Tilson-Thomas. One of the pastimes he loves most is to listen to and collect historic recordings. His admiration and affection for the innovations of Leopold Stokowski, the musical intensity of Dimitri Mitropoulos and the feeling for sound of Sir John Barbirolli know no bounds. Apart from extending his the compass of his knowledge of music of virtually all cultures and styles, he is especially interested in literature, the cinema and writing.


Konzertbüro Nikolaus Schmidt | Ifflandstraße 82 | 22087 Hamburg | Tel. +49.40.39 50 39 | Mobil +49.179.2085829 | info@schmidtkonzert.de

Ifflandstraße 82
22087 Hamburg
  Tel. +49.40.39 50 39
  Mobil +49.179.2085829

  info@schmidtkonzert.de
English version
 
 
Musik ist die einzige Sprache, die von allen Menschen verstanden wird.

(Nikolaus Harnoncourt)


Das Konzertbüro

Das Konzertbüro Nikolaus Schmidt wurde im Januar 2000 gegründet und versteht sich als Wegbereiter für Musiker und Individualisten, die ein kleines Büro für die Akquise, Gagenverhandlung, Korrespondenz und die Vorbereitung der Logistik ihrer internationalen Konzerttätigkeit in Anspruch nehmen möchten. Der Schwerpunkt des Konzertbüro Nikolaus Schmidt liegt auf der Vermittlung von herausragenden Streichersolisten und Kammermusikensembles, daneben werden auch Dirigenten und Pianisten vertreten. Jene Musiker, die dem Konzertbüro ihre Vertretung übertragen haben, erhalten individuelle Betreuung und Unterstützung in Fragen der strategischen Entwicklung ihrer Aktivitäten im Konzertleben. Eine überschaubare Künstlerliste, die sich aus dem Gedanken ‚Small is beautiful’ ergab, ermöglicht es dem Konzertbüro, die Künstler individuell nach ihren Wünschen und Bedürfnissen den Konzertveranstaltern und Medien gegenüber zu vertreten. Im klassischen Sinne wird die Arbeit eines Mittlers geleistet, heute würde man es Diplomat nennen. Das Konzertbüro versteht sich als Anwalt der Musiker, für die auch Serviceleistungen übernommen werden.

Es werden Teilzeitassistenzen sowie Berufspraktika für Studenten des Kulturmanagement mit ausgeprägtem musikalischen Interessenschwerpunkt und guter Repertoirekenntnis angeboten.

Der Vermittler

Nikolaus SchmidtNikolaus Schmidt, geboren am 6. Oktober 1966 in Wuppertal-Elberfeld, erlebte im Alter von fünf Jahren zum ersten Mal eine Opernvorstellung, mit sechs Jahren zum ersten Mal ein Konzert eines Sinfonieorchesters. Seine Angewohnheit, Konzerte anzuhören, verdrängte bald eigene Aktivitäten im Erlernen der Instrumente Cello, Klavier und Klarinette. Seit seinem vierzehnten Lebensjahr besucht er über einhundert klassische Konzerte pro Konzertsaison und entwickelte als Autodidakt ein Gespür für Qualität.

Nachhaltige Anregungen in Fragen der Interpretation und Aufführungspraxis erhielt er von seinem Freund Rainer Clute, damals Hörspielregisseur im RIAS Berlin, später auch von Andreas von Arnauld, einem Freund und komponierenden Juristen. Das Studium der Historischen Musikwissenschaften seit 1987 in Hamburg ergänzte Nikolaus Schmidt ab 1991 fünf Jahre lang mit der Nebentätigkeit als Berater und Verkäufer in einem Hamburger Fachgeschäft für Tonträger im Klassikbereich. Diese Zeit nutzte er vor allem, um seine Repertoirekenntnis zu vervielfachen.

Der Umweg über diverse Praktika an Opernhäusern, unter anderem an der Komischen Oper Berlin bei Harry Kupfer, der Deutschen Oper am Rhein bei Kurt Horres und später in der Intendanz der Düsseldorfer Symphoniker führten schließlich ab 1995 zur Mitarbeit in der Konzertdirektion Dr.Rudolf Goette in Hamburg. Dort entdeckte er, dass er seine Liebe zur Musik und zu Musikern ideal mit seinen organisatorischen Fähigkeiten und kommunikativen Begabungen kombinieren konnte und wählte die Arbeit eines Künstlervermittlers zu seiner Profession. Zunächst während zwei Jahren mit Assistenzaufgaben beschäftigt, übernahm Nikolaus Schmidt 1998 das Management für etliche Musiker, unter anderen Auryn Quartett, Hagen Quartett, Nelson Freire, Isabelle van Keulen, Boris Pergamenschikow und Marcello Viotti. Später akquirierte er weitere Ensembles, Dirigenten und Solisten für die Konzertdirektion Dr.Goette. Nach vier Lehrjahren als Angestellter gründete er 2000 das Konzertbüro Nikolaus Schmidt in Hamburg.

Zu seinen persönlichen Hausgöttern zählen die Komponisten Anton Bruckner, Antonin Dvorák, Leos Janácek, Dimitri Schostakowitsch, Franz Schubert und Jean Sibelius. Prägende Eindrücke haben Konzerterlebnisse mit Claudio Arrau, Arturo Benedetti-Michelangeli, Leonard Bernstein, Sergiu Celibidache, Antal Dorati, Carlo Maria Giulini, Ida Haendel, Vladimir Horowitz, Carlos Kleiber, Nathan Milstein, Jewgenij Mrawinskij, Václav Neumann, Eugene Ormandy, Rudolf Serkin und Günter Wand hinterlassen. Zu seinen Favoriten im heutigen Konzertleben zählen in erster Linie die Musiker, für die er selber arbeitet.

Im orchestralen Bereich gibt die Arbeit und Kunst von Dirigenten wie Claudio Abbado, Valery Gergiev, Nikolaus Harnoncourt, Lorin Maazel, Simon Rattle, Yuri Temirkanov und Michael Tilson-Thomas die Bandbreite dessen, was er geschmacklich bevorzugt, wieder. Eine seiner Leidenschaften gilt dem Hören und Sammeln historischer Aufnahmen. Den Innovationen von Leopold Stokowski, der musikalischen Intensität von Dimitri Mitropoulos und dem Klangsinn von John Barbirolli gehören seine uneingeschränkte Bewunderung und Liebe. Neben der Erweiterung seines Radius für Musik fast aller kultureller Stilrichtungen interessiert er sich besonders für Literatur, Filme und Schreiben.

 

Konzertbüro Nikolaus Schmidt | Ifflandstraße 82 | 22087 Hamburg | Tel. +49.40.39 50 39 | Mobil +49.179.2085829 | info@schmidtkonzert.de