Ifflandstraße 82
22087 Hamburg
  Tel. +49.40.39 50 39
  Mobil +49.179.2085829

  info@schmidtkonzert.de
Deutsche Version
 
 
Biography

Julian Steckel (Concerts up to January 15th, 2012)

Violoncello

www.juliansteckel.com



Management
Special projects

Biography Julian Steckel

Born in 1982, Julian Steckel started playing the cello at the age of five and is today among the up-and-coming artists of the new generation that is becoming established on the international concert scene. Numerous First and Second Prizes, at the Deutscher Musikwettbewerb and the International Lutoslawski Competition in Warsaw along with the three major international competitions at Kronberg (Pablo Casals Competition 2004), Paris (Concours Rostropovitch 2005) and most recently, in Berlin (Grand Prix Emanuel Feuermann 2006) have brought him international recognition. In Saarbruecken Ulrich Voss was his first teacher over a longer period, then later Gustav Rivinius at the Musikhochschule Saarbruecken. Julian Steckel studied with Boris Pergamenschikow in Berlin and with Heinrich Schiff in Vienna. He is currently rounding off his studies at the Hanns Eisler Academy of Music in Berlin with Antje Weithaas.

Julian Steckel has been a soloist with the Orchestre de Paris, with the Berlin, Frankfurt, Saarbruecken, Stuttgart, Copenhagen and Warsaw radio symphony orchestras, with the Kremerata Baltica, the Franz Liszt Chamber Orchestra Budapest and the Zurich and Stuttgart chamber orchestras under such conductors as Andrey Boreyko, Christian Arming, Michael Sanderling and John Storgards. Among the highlights of the last concert season were his debut with the Schumann Concerto in the Salle Pleyel in Paris, concerts in Dusseldorf during the Schumann Festival, his debut with the RSO Stuttgart; and concert tours of France and South America. He is reinvited to perform with Sir Roger Norrington and Radio Symphony Orchestra Stuttgart at Schwetzingen Festival in May to celebrate the Haydn Anniversary 2009.

As an enthusiastic chamber musician, Julian Steckel has performed as guest artist at festivals in Ludwigsburg, Bonn, Dresden, Gstaad, Zermatt, Mondsee, Cambrai and Menton, also at the “Spannungen” Festival in Heimbach. He has given concerts with Sarah Chang, Isabelle Faust, Christian Tetzlaff, Yuri Bashmet, Tatjana Masurenko, Gustav and Paul Rivinius, Alexander Lonquich, Thomas Larcher, Lars Vogt and Francois Leleux, as well as with the Ebéne, Guarneri, Talich and Vogler quartets. Additional appearances as soloist and chamber musician have taken him to the Philharmonie and the Konzerthaus in Berlin, the Laieszhalle in Hamburg, the Philharmonie am Gasteig in Munich, the Théatre du Chatelet in Paris, the Tonhalle Zurich and the Seoul Arts Center.

Julian Steckel held the Boris Pergamenschikow Scholarship at Kronberg Academy and won the Top Cellist Prize at the Verbier Festival as well as a Borletti Buitoni Trust Fellowship Award in 2007. AVI-MUSIC has released live concert recordings from the “Spannungen” Festival in Heimbach feasaturing Julian Steckel in works by Mozart and Brahms, while a first recital CD has appeared on the Ars Musici label. As a co-production with Deutschlandradio, the collected works for violoncello and piano by Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy will be released in a recording made with Paul Rivinius by AVI-Music in spring 2009. Also being prepared just now are recordings of Dallapiccola’s Cello Concerto, with the Berlin RSO and Peter Hirsch, as well as works by Bloch, Goldschmidt and Korngold with the Rheinische Philharmonie Koblenz and Daniel Raiskin.

Julian Steckel plays a violoncello made by Francesco Rugeri (Cremona, circa. 1670-1680) from the Deutsche Stiftung Musikleben’s stock of musical instruments, also a modern instrument by Urs W.Mächler (Speyer 2005).
Downloads
Click to download.
Photo:
Marco Borggreve

Click to download.
Photo:
Marco Borggreve

Click to download.
Photo:
Marco Borggr eve

Click to download.
Photo:
Marco Borggreve

Biography

Click to download.

Julian Steckel.doc
 

Konzertbüro Nikolaus Schmidt | Ifflandstraße 82 | 22087 Hamburg | Tel. +49.40.39 50 39 | Mobil +49.179.2085829 | info@schmidtkonzert.de

Ifflandstraße 82
22087 Hamburg
  Tel. +49.40.39 50 39
  Mobil +49.179.2085829

  info@schmidtkonzert.de
English version
 
 
Biografie

Julian Steckel (Konzerte bis 15.01.2012)

Violoncello

www.juliansteckel.com



Vertretung
Sonderprojekte

Biografie Julian Steckel

1982 geboren, begann Julian Steckel im Alter von fünf Jahren mit dem Cellospiel und zählt heute zu den aufstrebenden Künstlern der jungen Generation, die sich im internationalen Konzertleben etablieren. Zahlreiche Wettbewerbserfolge, der Preis des Deutschen Musikwettbewerbs 2003 und in Warschau (International Lutoslawski Competition 2003) sowie vorderste Preise bei den drei wichtigsten internationalen Wettbewerben von Kronberg (Pablo Casals Competition 2004), Paris (Concours Rostropowitsch 2005) und Berlin (Grand Prix Emanuel Feuermann 2006) bereiten ihm international Anerkennung. In Saarbrücken war Ulrich Voss sein erster langjähriger Lehrer, später Gustav Rivinius an der Musikhochschule Saarbrücken. Julian Steckel studierte bei Boris Pergamenschikow in Berlin und bei Heinrich Schiff in Wien. Derzeit rundet er sein Studium an der Hochschule für Musik „Hanns Eisler“ in Berlin bei Antje Weithaas ab.

Julian Steckel war Solist mit dem Orchestre de Paris, den Radiosinfonieorchestern Berlin, Frankfurt, Saarbrücken, Stuttgart, Kopenhagen und Warschau, mit der Kremerata Baltica, dem Franz-Liszt-Kammerorchester Budapest und den Züricher und Stuttgarter Kammerorchestern unter Dirigenten wie Andrey Boreyko, Christian Arming, Michael Sanderling und John Storgards. Zu den Höhepunkten der vergangenen Konzertsaison zählen sein Debüt mit dem Schumann-Konzert in der Salle Pleyel in Paris, Konzerte in Düsseldorf im Rahmen des Schumann-Fest, sein Debüt beim RSO Stuttgart und Konzertreisen durch Frankreich und Südamerika. Auf Einladung von Sir Roger Norrington spielte Julian Steckel im im Rahmen der Schwetzinger Festspiele erneut mit dem RSO Stuttgart, als Solist in der Sinfonia Concertante von Haydn.

Als begeisterter Kammermusiker gastierte Julian Steckel bei den Festspielen in Ludwigsburg, Bonn, Dresden, Gstaad, Zermatt, Mondsee, Cambrai, Menton und beim „Spannungen“ Festival Heimbach. Er konzertierte mit Sarah Chang, Isabelle Faust, Christian Tetzlaff, Yuri Bashmet, Tatjana Masurenko, Gustav und Paul Rivinius, Alexander Lonquich, Thomas Larcher, Lars Vogt, Francois Leleux sowie den Quartetten Ebéne, Guarneri, Talich und Vogler. Weitere Auftritte als Solist und Kammermusiker führten ihn in die Philharmonie und das Konzerthaus Berlin, die Hamburger Musikhalle, die Philharmonie am Gasteig München, Théatre du Chatelet Paris, die Tonhalle Zürich und das Seoul Arts Center.

Julian Steckel ist Träger des Boris Pergamenschikow Stipendiums der Kronberg Academy und gewann 2007 einen Borletti Buitoni Trust Fellowship Award sowie den Top-Cellists-Prize des Verbier Festivals.

Im Frühjahr 2009 erschienen bei AVI- Music sämtliche Werke für Violoncello und Klavier vom Felix Mendelssohn- Bartholdy, eine Einspielung mit Paul Rivinius und Koproduktion mit Deutschlandradio (Supersonic- Award, CD- Tip des RBB und des HR, Referenzaufnahme bei Klassik- Heute, Empfehlung der Redaktion bei klassik.com). Ferner sind Aufnahmen des Cellokonzerts von Dallapiccola mit dem Rundfunksinfonieorchester Berlin und Peter Hirsch sowie Werke von Goldschmidt, Korngold und Bloch mit der Rheinischen Philharmonie Koblenz und Daniel Raiskin in Vorbereitung. Darüberhinaus veröffentliche AVI- Music Konzertmitschnitte mit Julian Steckel vom \"Spannungen\" Festival Heimbach mit Werken von Mozart und Brahms.

Julian Steckel spielt ein Violoncello von Francesco Rugeri (Cremona um 1670-1680) aus dem Musikinstrumentenfond der Deutschen Stiftung Musikleben, ferner ein modernes Instrument von Urs W. Mächler (Speyer 2005).
Downloads
Anklicken um die Datei herunterzuladen.
Foto:
Marco Borggreve

Anklicken um die Datei herunterzuladen.
Foto:
Marco Borggreve

Anklicken um die Datei herunterzuladen.
Foto:
Marco Borggr eve

Anklicken um die Datei herunterzuladen.
Foto:
Marco Borggreve

Biografie

Anklicken um die Datei herunterzuladen.

Julian Steckel.doc
 

Konzertbüro Nikolaus Schmidt | Ifflandstraße 82 | 22087 Hamburg | Tel. +49.40.39 50 39 | Mobil +49.179.2085829 | info@schmidtkonzert.de